more from
LP Records

Asleep In The Kaatskills

by The Great Albatross

supported by
Leerkat thumbnail
Leerkat What an amazing little album. It's alt folk and it's also emo. It's got an admirable delicateness and an attention for detail, and god is every single song on this record catchy and atmospheric. Strong love Favorite track: 20 Years Of Slumber.
David Leigh Newton
David Leigh Newton thumbnail
David Leigh Newton Absolutely amazing album. As a fan of Boris Smile I was absolutely stunned to hear such a beautiful articulate and well written album. Hope to see more and more from these guys. Favorite track: An Evening.
  • Record/Vinyl + Digital Album

    Limited vinyl pressed on Aquamarine vinyl w/ ltd edition hand drawn still from "The Honeymoon's Over" video + insert/download.

    Includes unlimited streaming of Asleep In The Kaatskills via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 5 days

      £15 GBP


  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

      £4 GBP




The brand new full length album from The Great Albatross out on vinyl via LP Records!

Limited Edition Aquamarine Vinyl
w/ Insert + hand drawn still from "The Honeymoon's Over" music video.
First 90 will also come with a stickered sleeve inspired by my first meeting with Wesley last year.

I am beyond excited to finally release this album to the world and to have it as the first vinyl release on our young label. This album means a hell of a lot to me and to Wesley, it's been crafted and perfected over multiple years with some wonderful musicians involved. I can't wait for you to hear it.
Lorenzo, LP Records

The Great Albatross is the indie music project of singer/songwriter A. Wesley Chung (formerly of Boris Smile). The project was formed in Glasgow, Scotland in 2011 and consists of an expansive, international list of contributors and collaborators.

The project has performed both in the US and UK, including both days of the 2013 Count Your Lucky Stars/Topshelf Records SXSW showcase in Austin, TX, GoNorth Festival in Scotland and Union Chapel in London. The Great Albatross have performed alongside the likes of Into It. Over It.,Pinegrove, Owen, Joan of Arc, Kevin Morby, The World is a Beautiful Place and I am No Longer Afraid to Die, Dowsing, Empire! Empire! (I was a lonely estate), and Football, Etc.

The Great Albatross’s first release was a split 7” (picture disc) with famed indie/emo artist Into It. Over It. released on Struggletown Records. The B-side, “Summer’s Gone (Single Version),” was mixed and co-produced by Glasgow producer Gordon Skene (formerly of Frightened Rabbit, Smash Williams, Moth and the Mirror) and has been aired on BBC Radio Scotland’s Roddy Hart show.

In 2014, they released a 7” vinyl entitled “Roots,” on Count Your Lucky Stars Records. The EP is characterised by lament (an expression of loss, regret and mourning) and expresses a more sombre side of Chung’s writing. Roots includes contributions from Avi Zahner-Isenberg (Avi Buffalo/Sub Pop) and acclaimed Scottish singer/songwriter Jo Mango. Mixed by composer and longtime collaborator Seth Shafer (Boris Smile) and mastered by Carl Saff (Coco Rosie, Peter Broderick, The Innocence Mission).

Their upcoming full length album entitled, “Asleep in the Kaatskills,” will be released with Glasgow based LP Records. The album reflects Chung’s cross-cultural experience of living, writing and performing in both the US and Scotland, which is most explicitly expressed by his recording the album in both countries. While the album lyrically deals with the three major themes of consciousness, relationships and distance, sonically the album explores place, culture and landscape and its effect on both production and musical aesthetic. “Asleep in the Kaatskills” includes guest vocals from Evan Weiss (Into It. Over It.), Kate Grube (Kittyhawk), and Jo Mango, and sees Chung teaming up again with Gordon Skene as co-producer.


released May 12, 2017

All songs written by A. Wesley Chung. All lyrics by A. Wesley Chung. All
arrangements by A. Wesley Chung and contributors of The Great Albatross, with string arrangements on tracks 6 & 8 by Seth Shafer. All songs produced and mixed by Gordon Russell Skene and A. Wesley Chung. Most songsengineered by Gordon Russell Skene, except for drums by Evan Trine, bass by Doug Brown, banjo by Jon Carman, pedal steel by Alex Medina, vocals of Evan Thomas Weiss & Kate Grube by Mark Michalik, keys/tuba/synth by Seth Shafer and Graeme’s electric guitar on track 3 by Graeme McKerracher. All songs Mastered by Nick Townsend at Townsend Mastering.

All songs © 2017 The Great Albatross.

Released by LP Records

Album Artwork & Layout by Helen Kellock

Special thanks to Gordon Skene, Malcolm Black, Seth Shafer, Calum Scott, Alan Langdon, Graeme McKerracher, Liam Chapman, Tristan Hall, Evan Trine, Doug Brown, Jon Carman, Gordon Turner, Lorenzo Pacitti & LP Records, Steven Hill & Struggletown Records, Keith & Cathy Latinen & Count Your Lucky Stars Records, Flourish House, Jo Mango, Courier’s Club, Evan Weiss, Avi Zahner-Isenberg, Kory Dane, Anita Jean Stewart, Ben & Alan at Wake Up Advice, the music communities of Glasgow & Long Beach and of course Helen.



all rights reserved


The Great Albatross Glasgow, UK

contact / help

Contact The Great Albatross

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code